LR, R, and G category - What do they mean?
Thread poster: Paul Ashton
Paul Ashton
Paul Ashton
China
Local time: 19:28
Chinese to English
+ ...
Apr 24, 2022

Hi all,

I'm new to CafeTran Espresso, using version 11.0.4 - Poppy Seed Roll.

In the translation units segment there is a category "G" and beneath it, the number of the segment. Some segments are denoted with "LR" and "R" - I'm not sure what these mean. I assume it's referring to duplicate translations with only number differences, but I want to make sure that the software will auto-populate, as I cannot translate the segments with the "LR" notation.

Thank
... See more
Hi all,

In the translation units segment there is a category "G" and beneath it, the number of the segment. Some segments are denoted with "LR" and "R" - I'm not sure what these mean. I assume it's referring to duplicate translations with only number differences, but I want to make sure that the software will auto-populate, as I cannot translate the segments with the "LR" notation.

Thank you!
Collapse

Hans Lenting
Hans Lenting
Netherlands
Member (2006)
German to Dutch
Ref files Apr 24, 2022

Paul Ashton wrote:

Hi all,

Thank you!

I've been looking and looking in the Reference Documents but I cannot find it. I'm pretty sure it's there.

Jean Dimitriadis
Jean Dimitriadis  Identity Verified
English to French
+ ...
Symbols Apr 25, 2022

I think "L" stands for Locked and "R" for Repeated segment. "LR" would be "Locked and Repeated".

By default, "Locked" segments are skipped (Action > Skip). Locked status can be disabled by right-clicking inside the Source segment editor box and deselecting "Locked segment".

For repeated segments, auto-propagation settings apply (which can be found in Preferences > Auto-propagation). This can be disabled on a per segment level by right-clicking inside the Source segment
... See more
I think "L" stands for Locked and "R" for Repeated segment. "LR" would be "Locked and Repeated".