Interested in paying for membership with ProZ, but not sure if it's worth it.
Thread poster: AriDiaz
AriDiaz
AriDiaz
English to Spanish
May 4, 2009

Hi, I'm interested in becoming a member of ProZ.com, but I'm not sure if it will be effective for me. If I get some convincing, I'll probably join. I have a degree in Psychology with a minor in Spanish. I am fluent in English just as I am in Spanish, and I have performed extensive translation and interpretation work within my own job. So, the questions are. would I qualify to become a member? Would my likelihood of finding translation jobs in your site be positive or negative for me? If I could ... See more
Hi, I'm interested in becoming a member of ProZ.com, but I'm not sure if it will be effective for me. If I get some convincing, I'll probably join. I have a degree in Psychology with a minor in Spanish. I am fluent in English just as I am in Spanish, and I have performed extensive translation and interpretation work within my own job. So, the questions are. would I qualify to become a member? Would my likelihood of finding translation jobs in your site be positive or negative for me? If I could make this a full-time commitment, I would do it, but I want to make sure I'm making the right investment. Nevertheless, I'm seriously excited about the opportunity. Thank you.Collapse

Stephen Rifkind
Stephen Rifkind  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 20:10
Member (2004)
French to English
+ ...
Purpose of Proz May 4, 2009

As I see nobody has answered your question, I'll put in my two Eurocents.

If you think Proz is going to make you rich, you will be very disappointed. There are too many low bid items. Also, the ratio of jobs to translators is not good in most langagues.

However, if you want to get 2-5 new clients a year, it is a good investment. The biggest problem in this business is the first job from a Client. They don't know anything about you.

Aside from professi
... See more