News item: ProZ.com Profiled in Inc. Magazine
Thread poster: Russell Jones
Russell Jones
Russell Jones  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 06:14
Italian to English
Apr 20, 2008

Surely this news item warrants some explanation!
If I have understood it correctly, it is about machine translation for various purposes.
It compares a "human translation" of a Russian sentence with the results obtained using various "translation tools", one of which is Proz.com!
While I have no knowledge of Russian, the ProZ.com version appears to me to be in better English even than the "human version".
But how was it obtained? The sentence is far too long to have be
... See more
If I have understood it correctly, it is about machine translation for various purposes.
It compares a "human translation" of a Russian sentence with the results obtained using various "translation tools", one of which is Proz.com!
While I have no knowledge of Russian, the ProZ.com version appears to me to be in better English even than the "human version".
But how was it obtained? The sentence is far too long to have been obtained via a KudoZ request.
Some explanation is badly needed.

[Edited at 2008-04-20 17:14]
Collapse

Walter Landesman
Walter Landesman  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 02:14
English to Spanish
+ ...
??? Apr 20, 2008

I don`t know what you are talking about.

Are you refering to any news article? Which one? Can you provide a link to it?

Russell Jones
United Kingdom
Italian to English
TOPIC STARTER
Link on Home Page Apr 20, 2008

Hi Walter
This is top right on the Home Page: "New at ProZ.com".
Happy reading.

Walter Landesman
Uruguay
English to Spanish
+ ...
link Apr 20, 2008

This is the article then:
- ProZ.com Profiled in Inc. Magazine
http://www.inc.com/magazine/20080401/what-are-you-trying-to-say.html

Giles Watson
Giles Watson  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 07:14
Italian to English
In memoriam
If I understand correctly... Apr 20, 2008

Russell Jones wrote: