Thread poster: Gerhard Wiesinger
Gerhard Wiesinger
Gerhard Wiesinger  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:30
English to German
+ ...
Feb 17, 2018

Hi, I updated Java today to version 8 update 161 (build 1.8.0-161-b12) and CafeTran crashed several times since then. The the message "Java(TM) Platform SE binary has stopped working. A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the problem ..." pops up.
My CafeTran version is 2017122602-Forerunner 2018
I am a translator, not a tech guy and hope someone can offer a solution that does not require digging into the guts of my computer.

Hans Lenting
Hans Lenting
Netherlands
Member (2006)
German to Dutch
Install a fresh Java and a fresh CafeTran Espresso 2018 Feb 18, 2018

Visit the Oracle page Java SE Runtime Environment 9 Downloads, currently located at:

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jre9-downloads-3848532.html

Download the file jre-9.0.4_windows-x64_bin.exe and install it, to get Java 9 on your Windows 64 computer. (At least, I hope that you have Windows 64 runn
... See more
Visit the Oracle page Java SE Runtime Environment 9 Downloads, currently located at:

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jre9-downloads-3848532.html

Download the file jre-9.0.4_windows-x64_bin.exe and install it, to get Java 9 on your Windows 64 computer. (At least, I hope that you have Windows 64 running ...)

Download the newest version of CafeTran Espresso 2018 at:

https://www.cafetran.com/download-for-windows-pc/

Make sure to install the new CafeTran Espresso 2018 in a separate folder, to isolate it from your old one. Also, make sure to click the correct icon to launch the new version, instead of the old one.

Note that you will need to update your license, because of the new installation path.